Maggie 18

for correct layout of this poem please visit ‘Mal’s Factory’ –

link as follows http://malsfactory.blogspot.co.uk/2016/02/maggie-18.html

Maggie

 

But I’m eighteen tomorrow

be nice to me

you’re being horrible –

I don’t really feel eighteen

so immature, naïve in many ways

isn’t it horrible to think

I’m eighteen tomorrow –

You must be nice to me

it’s my birthday

tomorrow

I’m eighteen.

Don’t be so nasty –

I’m strong you know

I took five boys on

one day –

I’ve got the bruises

But don’t be –

oh, Malcolm

you are horrible

being nasty when

it’s my birthday tomorrow.

Speaking with eyes

laughing and weeping –

dejected

trying to be happy –

Smiling sweetly

Informing me she’d cry

in a minute –

because

she’s eighteen tomorrow.

Malcolm Evison

1965 – rediscovered & slightly amended 220216

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

