One for Richard

with the positive identification of the car park skeleton it seemed an appropriate time to re-publish this poem!

 

MISSION BETRAYED

[Redemore 22 August 1485]

 

Misjudged by many of my peers,

betrayed by those in whom

I placed my trust. Today

 

I sift through memory,

acknowledge scheming in my blood –

the unquenched thirst

 

of generations. Betrayal

led me to accept defeat

out of the very jaws

 

of victory. I clung

to pride.

 

***************

 

A Judas multiplied

was on my side,

in faith, I thought them

 

little Christs. Their company

made for me

a lonely ride.

 

*******************

 

The wetlands bogged me down,

Canuted by the rapid-turning tide.

 

Today I made myself

a pawn

for Tudors grasping hand –

 

Today I died a King,

upheld the remnants

of my dignity.

 

*********************

 

My crown was no more theft

than fate contrives

to thrust on monarchy itself –

 

Today I have my pride.

 

 

Malcolm Evison

This entry was posted in POETRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One for Richard

  1. Pingback: Archive Mined | MAL's MURMURINGS

Leave a Reply

