Rain Rhythms

RAINDROPS KEEP FALLING OVERHEAD

 

Full-bounce, full taps –

the odd rim-shot

snapped out –

 

the rapping rain asserts

its skylight presence.

 

Entranced –

I listen as

it riffs away –

 

a paradiddle plenitude

marks my emergence

into day.

 

Then lightening

fires a cymbal crash –

 

a bass drum sostenuto

now holds sway.

 

 

 

 

                          Malcolm Evison

                          18 August 2006

 

 

 

 
This entry was posted in POETRY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain Rhythms

  1. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Mal….I must have pushed the wrong button.  Meant to \’add a comment\’ and ended up sending a message.  I love the poem.  Then again….when have I not loved your work.  Thank you for visiting and my best to you and Helen.  I hope you get the message.    Bittersweet 

Leave a Reply

